Open Access Highly Accessed Open Badges Commentary

Science and policy on endocrine disrupters must not be mixed: a reply to a “common sense” intervention by toxicology journal editors

Åke Bergman*, Anna-Maria Andersson, Georg Becher, Martin van den Berg, Bruce Blumberg, Poul Bjerregaard, Carl-Gustaf Bornehag, Riana Bornman, Ingvar Brandt, Jayne V Brian, Stephanie C Casey, Paul A Fowler, Heloise Frouin, Linda C Giudice, Taisen Iguchi, Ulla Hass, Susan Jobling, Anders Juul, Karen A Kidd, Andreas Kortenkamp, Monica Lind, Olwenn V Martin, Derek Muir, Roseline Ochieng, Nicolas Olea, Leif Norrgren, Erik Ropstad, Peter S Ross, Christina Rudén, Martin Scheringer, Niels Erik Skakkebaek, Olle Söder, Carlos Sonnenschein, Ana Soto, Shanna Swan, Jorma Toppari, Charles R Tyler, Laura N Vandenberg, Anne Marie Vinggaard, Karin Wiberg and R Thomas Zoeller

Environmental Health 2013, 12:69  doi:10.1186/1476-069X-12-69

Please see related Editorial:

PubMed Commons is an experimental system of commenting on PubMed abstracts, introduced in October 2013. Comments are displayed on the abstract page, but during the initial closed pilot, only registered users can read or post comments. Any researcher who is listed as an author of an article indexed by PubMed is entitled to participate in the pilot. If you would like to participate and need an invitation, please email, giving the PubMed ID of an article on which you are an author. For more information, see the PubMed Commons FAQ.


Ake Bergman   (2013-10-12 02:33)  Stockholm University

Co-signatories who indicate support for the Commentary: Science and policy on endocrine disrupters must not be mixed: a reply to a common sense - intervention by toxicology journal editors; published in Environmental Health 2013, 12:69

Dr Patrik Andersson, Umea University, Umea, Sweden

Dr Allan Astrup Jensen, Nordic Institute of Product Sustainability, Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology (NIPSECT), Frederiksberg, Denmark

Prof Thomas Backhaus, Gothenburg University, Gothenburg, Sweden

Dr Cecilia Berg, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Prof Hindrik Bouwman, North-West University, Potchefstroom, South Africa

Dr Sofie Christiansen, Technical University of Denmark, Soeborg, Denmark

Dr Anna Beronius, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Dr Magnus Breitholz, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Dr Lynn Carroll, TEDX, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange, Paonia, CO, USA

Prof. Emeritus Theo Colborn, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA

Prof Michael S. Denison, University of California at Davis, Davis, USA

Dr Joseph DiGangi, IPEN, Berkeley, USA

Prof Majorie B.M. van Duursen, Univedrsity of Utrechet, Utrechet, The Netherlands

Dr Michael Faust, F+B Environmental Consulting, Bremen, Germany

Prof Andrea Gore, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Tx, USA

Prof Geir Wing Gabrielsen, The Norwegian Polar Institute, Tromsoe, Norway

Dr Arno C. Gutleb, Centre de Recherche Public Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg

Prof Sven Ove Hansson, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden

Prof Caren Helbing, University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Dr. Henrik Holech, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark

Dr Qinghui Huang, Tongji University, Shanghai, China

Prof Kristina Jakobsson, Lund University, Lund, Sweden

Prof Roland Kallenborn, Norwegian University of Life Science, Aas, Norway

Dr Junko Kimura-Kuroda, Tokyo Metropolitan Institute of Medical Science, Tokyo, Japan

Dr Petra Kunz, Swiss Centre for Applied Ecotoxicology Eawag/EPFL, Duberndorf, Switzerland

Dr Carol F. Kwiatkowski, TEDX, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange, Paonia, CO, USA

Dr Margareta Halin Lejonklou, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Dr Knud Ladegaard Pedersen, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark

Prof Mariana F. Fernandez, University of Granada, Granada, Spain

Dr Rainer Lohmann, University of Rhode Island, Narragansett, USA

Prof Duk-Hee Lee, School of Medicine, Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Republic of Korea

Prof Sverker Molander, Chalmers University, Goeteborg, Sweden

Dr Jane Muncke, FP Forum, Zurich, Switzerland

Prof Jon Oyvind Odland, Institute of Community Medicine, University of Tromsoe, Tromsoe, Norway

Adj. prof John Peterson Myers, Environmental Health Sciences and Carnegie Mellon University, Charlottesville VA, USA

Dr M. Ramiro Pastorinho, Center for Environmental and Marine Studies, University of Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal and Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO, USA

Dr Miquel Porta, Hospital del Mar Institute of Medical Research (IMIM) and Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain

Prof Agneta Rannug, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden

Prof Ulf Rannug, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Dr Per Roos, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden

Dr Raun Andersen, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark

Prof Heqing Shen, Institute of Urban Environment, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Xiamen, China

Dr Ana Catarina Almeida Sousa, CICS-UBI - Health Sciences Research Centre, University of Beira Interior, Covilha, Portugal

Dr. Brita Sundelin, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Prof Yanling Qiu, Tongji University, Shanghai, China

Steven Verhaegen, Norwegian School for Veterinary Science, Oslo, Norway

Dr Henrik Viberg, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden

Dr Martin Wagner, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany

Prof Cynthia de Wit, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Prof Daqiang Yin, Tongji University, Shanghai, China

Dr Marlene Agerstrand, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

* Affiliations are indicated for identification purposes only. The list will be updated, as needed, up to three months after publication of the Commentary. Colleagues, who want to appear as co-signatories should send a request with name, affiliation, and country, to

Competing interests

As corresponding author of the Commentary referred to, I declared no competing interests and this is similarly true for this comment.


Post a comment